A Different Way to World-Build

a new way to worldbuild

I’m going to be completely honest. I don’t always world build for my first draft. I just write and hope that what I imagine in my head is seeping down into my paper. Am I ever that lucky? No. I usually end up doing some world-building questionnaires about half way through my first draft because I realize the world I’m writing about is horribly boring and bland. Though I don’t mind the questionnaires, they can get boring fast, so I’m here today to pitch some new, more interactive ways to world-build.

Draw a Map

I love map making. Not only is the process super fun, it actually helps your writing. Now you don’t have to comb through fifty pages trying to figure out if the queen’s castle is north or south of the Lost Sea. I know that some writers, myself included, sometimes shy away from something that involves drawing because it is not our medium, but remember, this map is for your eyes only. It’s just to help you keep track of where everything is in your story. I like to start either by tracing a preexisting map (I traced one of Ireland for The Four Treasures of Inisfail) or making a land-shaped blob that I will later fashion into a continent. From there, I fill in natural landmarks, so this includes mountains, lakes, forests, rivers, deserts, etc. After that, I add any man-made features and country borders. For reference, here’s a very zoomed out version of a map I made for Turncoats. If you’ve been keeping up with my updates of Turncoats, do any of these places look familiar? If you haven’t, here’s the link: Turncoats on Quotev

map for blog

Sketch Clothing Designs

Just like every country in our world has different traditional outfits, every region in your world should have clothing diversity too. For example, somebody from the northern part of Ashland would not dress the same as someone from the Jephra Desert. I use traditional dress for one of my characters, Ara, to show how she is adapting to living in another country. Once again, don’t worry about how bad your sketches look. If you’re having trouble getting the proportions right, Google something along the lines of ‘fashion sketch form’ and thousands of templates for you to draw on will pop up. If you’re stumped on what your characters would wear, research options from the real world that have similar climates to the places you have created. For example, if I wanted to research options for my characters in the Jephra Desert, then I might look up traditional clothing in the Middle East or the Sahara Desert to get an idea of what a character would wear during the winter there. If you truly do not want to draw, then there are plenty of doll makers across the internet. Almost like a game of dress up, you’re able to customize the virtual doll and dress them.

Cooking Regional Dishes

I love to cook and bake so this is really fun for me. I did this for Four Treasures and made fresh butter and oat cakes (but got stopped at boar stew when my mom claimed that we didn’t have any boar) and the experience allowed me to fully understand the experience of prepping and tasting the meal. Once again, this step might involve a bit of research. For example, let’s take Sahea from the map above. It’s surrounded by water on three sides so we can assume that there is a large fishing industry there and I’ve already decided that the climate is similar to the Mediterranean. From there, I could research crops grown in the Mediterranean, or focus in on a country, like Italy or Spain and research different flavorings and foods from each country. Another option is taking food with recipes already written and renaming them for your story. For Sahea, I might choose a dish like Cioppino, which is a fish stew, although not invented in Italy, but by Italian immigrants. You don’t even need to name the dish, but perhaps name the ingredients instead. For example:

Benjamin sifted through the tomato broth filled with crab, scallops, clams, and the Sahean delicacy of squid tentacles that he had yet to learn to enjoy. 

To me, food is a really important part of world-building that really sells the setting. Plus, if you ever get published and your book becomes extremely popular, you could one day combine the food you created into something a la the Harry Potter Cookbook.

Take a Walk

The best way to understand the world you’ve created is to experience it, right? Now while I’ll probably have to rely on my imagination for anything south of Olsany, I can experience parts of Ephrea and Ashland in my own home. I live in Northeastern Ohio, which means that I know a fair bit about deciduous forests. Go to the metro parks and get lost on a trail (but not physically, that would be bad). How would your characters see this world? Focus on what it’s like walking through the park. How does the wind sound? How do the trees move? Are there any animals? Understand how your world works is crucial to writing it later on.

 

I hope that this helps anyone struggling to create a living and breathing world. I know that it can get boring to just think and sit about your world, so switch it up and get your hands dirty.

Katie

 

Leave a Reply

